Leaves in the Rain

Brotherly Love

Today’s watercolor experiment:

I love to take photographs of objects that catch my eye, as I mentioned the other day. However, sometimes I can’t resist an entire scene, uniformly lit. It’s been rainy and overcast here for the past few days. Overcast light is wonderful, as it seems to come from everywhere.  Today’s photograph is not remarkable in its composition, but is so in its lighting.

Digital Photo: Leaves After the Rain

Process:

In my interpretation of the scene above, I changed the composition to include the red persimmon leaves, a couple of fig leaves and a tangle of branches in a more manageable design.

I sketched the branches first, relying loosely on the reference photo; I outlined the leaves next. Neutral tint colored the dark undersides of the branches. The top parts of the branches remained white, to give the impression of wetness. The leaves began with lemon yellow – later I overpainted them with a combination of…

Ver la entrada original 228 palabras más

Responder

